• BJP retains its seats

New Delhi: If the results of the by-polls to four Lok Sabha and ten Assembly seats are any indication, the people of the country have accepted the bold move by Prime Minister Narendra Modi to demonetize the Rs 1,000 and Rs 500 notes in spite of the pain it caused.
The by-elections were held across six states in the country. The opposition which has been blocking discussion in parliament in the name of pain to the people on account of scarcity of currency notes has failed to prove its points in the by-polls which were considered a referendum on Modi.
In Madhya Pradesh, a BJP-ruled state, the ruling party retained a Lok Sabha seat and an Assembly seat. BJP’s Gyan Singh defeated Congress candidate Himadri Singh and won Shahdol seat by a margin of over 60,000 votes. In the Nepanagar Assembly constituency, the BJP candidate Manju Dadu trounced rival Antar Singh Barde of the Congress by a huge margin of 42,198 votes. The Shahdol seat fell vacant after the death of BJP’s Dalpat Singh Paraste.

Another BJP ruled state, Assam, also returned the ruling party candidates. Pradan Barua won the Lakhaimpur Lok Sabha seat for the BJP defeating the Congress party’s Hema Prasanga Pegu by a massive majority of 1,90,219 votes. The seat was vacated by Assam Chief Minister Sarbananada Sonowal. Mansigh Rongpi of the BJP, who left the Congress in July, pocketed the Baithalangso Assembly seat beating the Congress candidate Ruponsing Ronghang by 16,600 votes.
In Arunachal Pradesh, Dasingu Pul, wife of former chief minister Kalikho Pul, who committed suicide in Augurs defeated Independent candidate Yompi Kri by a small margin of 944 votes to win the Anjaw Assembly. CPM had retained the Left Front seat and wrested another from the Congress. CPM’s Biswajit Datta defeated TMC’s Manoj Das by 16,094 votes in Khowai while in Barjala Assembly constituency the CPM youth leader Jhumu Sarkar defeated BJP’s Shista Mohan Das by 3,374 votes. The Congress suffered loss of face.
In Bengal, Trinamool Congress retained the Tamluk and Cooch Behar Lok Sabha and Monteshwar Assembly seats by huge margins tempting Mamata Banerjee to comment that the results are a rejection of PM’s demonetization move. But she missed a very important point. The BJP has ended up in second slot relegating the CPM  which was downsized to 21 percent of the vote.  The Congress had a face saver in Pondicherry where the chief minister won the by-election.

Wanna Share it with loved ones?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here